Skip to content
Photo of faculty of the College

Thereasa Abrams
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 262
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5191
Email: tabrams1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Patricia Bamwine
Assistant Professor
Office: 321 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3164
Email: pbamwine@utk.edu
Profile Page


Harold Benus
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 269
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3394
Email: hbenus@utk.edu
Profile Page


Stan L. Bowie
Professor
Office: 421 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-0692
Email: sbowie@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Sarah Cermak
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 278
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5192
Email: scermak@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kate Chaffin
Director, Online MSSW Program
and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 280
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6134
Email: katechaffin@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Ashley Childers
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 276
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3387
Email: achilde8@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Urban Child Institute logoAnne Conway
Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor
Office: 207 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-9154
Email:aconway3@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Courtney Cronley
Associate Professor
Office: 313 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7503
Email:Ccronle1@utk.edu
Profile Page


Sherry Cummings
Associate Dean for Academics and Professor
Office: Polk Avenue Building, Room 265
Office: Henson Hall, Room 304
Campus: Nashville and Knoxville
Phone: (615) 782-6153
Fax: (615) 248-8823
Email: scumming@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kim Denton
Coordinator of Field Education, BSSW Program and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 309 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6677
Email: kddenton@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


David Dupper
Professor
Office: 411 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7504
Email: ddupper@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Shandra Forrest-Bank
Director of the Social Work Office of Research and Public Service and Associate Professor
Office: 410 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7830
Email: sforres6@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Carmen Reese Foster
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 278
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3398
cfoste22@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


J. Camille Hall
Professor
Office: 314 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-1914
Email: jhall39@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Nicoll Hannaway
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 290
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6126
nhannaway@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Mary Held
Director, MSSW Program (Nashville)
and Associate Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 272
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6132
Email: mheld@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Freida Herron
Clinical Assistant Professor
Office: 420 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6680
Email: fherron@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Christy Hickman
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 310 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3206
Email: chickma1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Rebecca Jackson
Director, Field and International Education and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 307 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8984
Email: rjacks20@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Andrea Joseph
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 261
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5129
ajoseph7@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


April Mallory
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 275
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6135
Email: amallor3@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kim Crane Mallory
Coordinator of Field Education, Nashville MSSW Program and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 273
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6157
Email: kcrane@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kelly Brooke Martin
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 312 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3704
Email: kmarti16@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Lisa Reyes Mason
Director, PhD Program and Associate Professor
Office: 306 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3802
Email: mason@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Michael Mason
Betsey R. Bush Endowed Professor in Children & Families at Risk
Office: 213 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-9148
Email: mmason29@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Stephen McGarity
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 273 Campus: Nashville Phone: (615) 782-6150 Email: mcgarity@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Lori Messinger
Dean and Professor
Office: 404 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6693
Email: lmessing@utk.edu
Profile Page


Robert Mindrup
Director of BSSW Programs and Clinical Assistant Professor
Office: 303 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8109
Email: rmindrup@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


William R. Nugent
Associate Dean for Research and Professor
Office: 408 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6544
Email: wnugent@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page



David Patterson
Director, DSW Program and Cooper-Herron Endowed Professor in Mental Health Research & Practice
Office: 305 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7511
Email: dpatter2@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Ragan Schriver
Director, MSSW Program (Knoxville)
and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 302 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7513
Email: rschriv1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Sybil Schroeder
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 212 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-9131
Email: sschroe5@utk.edu
Profile Page


Marlys Staudt
Associate Professor
Office: 311 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7502
Email: mstaudt@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Sukey Steckel
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 260
Phone: (615) 782-6154
Email: sstecke1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Elizabeth Strand
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 2407 River Drive, Room A205
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8387
Email: estrand@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Matthew Theriot
Associate Provost for Faculty Development and Strategic Initiatives
Director, Teaching and Learning Innovation and UT ASCEND
Professor of Social Work
2442 Dunford Hall
Knoxville, TN 37996-0152
Campus: Knoxville
Office: (865) 974-9782
Email: mtheriot@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Elizabeth A. Thomas
Assistant Professor
Office: 424 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7500
Email: liz.thomas@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Phyllis Thompson
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 320 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6614
Email: pthomp11@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Katie Veit
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 277
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3383
Email: kdorough@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Martina Ward
Coordinator of Field Education, MSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 308 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7512
Email: mward21@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Stephanie Weatherstone
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 213 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-9125
Email: sswain@utk.edu
Profile Page


Stacia Martin-West
Assistant Professor
Office: 193 Polk Avenue, Suite E.
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6155
Fax: (615) 248-8823 
swest11@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


John Wodarski
Professor
Office: 214 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3988
Email: jwodarsk@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page



Emeritus Faculty

Thomas Cruthirds, Professor of Social Work. BA, North Texas State University; MSW, PhD, Tulane University. letomcru@comcast.net

Rebecca Bolen, Professor Social Work. BS, Texas Women's University; MM, Southern Methodist University; MSSW, University of Tennessee; PhD, University of Texas at Arlington.

Judith I. Fiene, Associate Dean and Associate Professor. BA, MSW, University of Louisville; PhD, The University of Tennessee.

Charles Glisson, Chancellor's Professor and Distinguished University Professor. BA, MSW, University of Alabama; PhD, Washington University.

Hisashi Hirayama, Professor of Social Work. DSW, University of Pennsylvania.

Kate Mullins, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Roger M. Nooe, Professor of Social Work. BS, Maryville College; MSW, PhD, Tulane University. rnooe@utk.edu
Daily Point of Light recipient #2195 - July 3, 2002. See http://www.pointsoflight.org/programs/recognition/dpol/awards/2195 for more information.

Terri Combs Orme, The Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor, BA, Baylor University, MSSW, University of Texas, Arlington, PhD, Washington University

John Orme, Professor of Social Work, BA, Miami University, MSW, PhD, Washington University. jorme@utk.edu
Connect with John on Google Scholar Citations or ResearchGate

James D. Orten, Professor of Social Work. DSW, University of Alabama

Cynthia Rocha, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. crocha@utk.edu

Hia Rubenstein, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Karen M. Sowers, Dean Emerita and Professor Emerita.  B.A. University of Central Florida; MSW Florida State University; PhD Florida State University kmsowers@utk.edu

Eunice O. Shatz, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Brandeis University.


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.