Skip to content
Photo of faculty of the College

Thereasa Abrams
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 262
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5191
Email: tabrams1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Rebecca Bolen
Professor
Office: 310 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3206
Email: rbolen@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Stan L. Bowie
Associate Professor
Office: 421 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-0692
Email: sbowie@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kate Chaffin
Director, MSSW Nashville and MSSW Online Programs
and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 280
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6134
Email: kmcclern@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Ashley Childers
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 276
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3387
Email: achilde8@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Sunha Choi
Assistant Professor
Office: 411 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7504
Email: schoi12@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Urban Child Institute logoTerri Combs-Orme
The Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor
Office: 312 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3704
Email: tcombs-orme@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Sherry Cummings
Associate Dean for Academics and Professor
Office: Polk Avenue Building, Room 265
Office: Henson Hall, Room 304
Campus: Nashville and Knoxville
Phone: (615) 782-6153
Fax: (615) 248-8823
Email: scumming@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kim Denton
Coordinator of Field Education, BSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 309 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6677
Email: kddenton@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


David Dupper
Interim Dean and Professor
Office: 402 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6693
Email: ddupper@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Shandra Forrest-Bank
Assistant Professor
Office: 410 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7830
Email: sforres6@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Carmen Reese Foster
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 278
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3398
cfoste22@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


J. Camille Hall
Associate Professor
Office: 314 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-1914
Email: jhall39@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Nicoll Hannaway
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 290
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6126
nhannaway@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Mary Held
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 272
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6132
Email: mheld@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Freida Herron
Clinical Assistant Professor
Office: 420 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6680
Email: fherron@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Christy Hickman
Coordinator of Field Education, Knoxville MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 308 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7512
Email: chickma1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Rebecca Jackson
Director, Field and International Education and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 307 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8984
Email: rjacks20@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


April Mallory
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 275
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6135
Email: amallor3@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Kim Crane Mallory
Coordinator of Field Education, Nashville MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 273
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6157
Email: kcrane@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Lisa Reyes Mason
Assistant Professor
Office: 408 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6544
Email: mason@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Michael Mason
Betsey R. Bush Endowed Professor in Children & Families at Risk
Office: 213 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-9148
Email: mmason29@utk.edu
vCard


Robert Mindrup
Interim Director, BSSW Program and Clinical Assistant Professor
Office: 303 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8109
Email: rmindrup@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


William R. Nugent
Associate Dean for Research, Interim Director, PhD Program, and Professor
Office: 306 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3802
Email: wnugent@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


John Orme
Professor
Office: 313 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7503
Email: jorme@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


David Patterson
Director, DSW Program and Cooper-Herron Endowed Professor in Mental Health Research & Practice
Office: 305 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7511
Email: dpatter2@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Ragan Schriver
Director, MSSW Program, Knoxville Campus and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 302 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7513
Email: rschriv1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Marlys Staudt
Associate Professor
Office: 311 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7502
Email: mstaudt@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Sukey Steckel
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 260
Phone: (615) 782-6154
Email: sstecke1@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Elizabeth Strand
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 2407 River Drive, Room A205
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8387
Email: estrand@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Matthew Theriot
Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, Asociate Provost for Teaching and Learning Innovation, and Professor
Office: Office of the Provost
527 Andy Holt Tower
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6152
Email: mtheriot@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Elizabeth A. Thomas
Assistant Professor
Office: 424 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7500
Email: liz.thomas@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Phyllis Thompson
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 320 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6614
Email: pthomp11@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Katie Veit
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 277
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3383
Email: kdorough@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


Stacia West
Assistant Professor
Office: 193 Polk Avenue, Suite E., Room 270
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6155
Fax: (615) 248-8823 
swest11@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page


John Wodarski
Professor
Office: 214 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3988
Email: jwodarsk@utk.edu
vCard
Profile Page



Emeritus Faculty

Thomas Cruthirds, Professor. BA, North Texas State University; MSW, PhD, Tulane University. letomcru@comcast.net

Judith I. Fiene, Associate Dean and Associate Professor. BA, MSW, University of Louisville; PhD, The University of Tennessee.

Charles Glisson, Chancellor's Professor and Distinguished University Professor. BA, MSW, University of Alabama; PhD, Washington University.

Hisashi Hirayama, Professor of Social Work. DSW, University of Pennsylvania.

Kate Mullins, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Roger M. Nooe, Professor. BS, Maryville College; MSW, PhD, Tulane University. rnooe@utk.edu
Daily Point of Light recipient #2195 - July 3, 2002. See http://www.pointsoflight.org/programs/recognition/dpol/awards/2195 for more information.

James D. Orten, Professor of Social Work. DSW, University of Alabama

Cynthia Rocha, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. crocha@utk.edu

Hia Rubenstein, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Karen M. Sowers, Dean Emerita and Professor Emerita.  B.A. University of Central Florida; MSW Florida State University; PhD Florida State University kmsowers@utk.edu

Eunice O. Shatz, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Brandeis University.


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.