Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Full-time Faculty of the College of Social Work

 

Thereasa Abrams

Thereasa Abrams
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 270
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5191
Email: tabrams1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Brittany Adams
Coordinator of Field Education, Online BSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7502
Email: blong8@utk.edu
Profile Page

Patricia Bamwine

Patricia Bamwine
Assistant Professor
Office: 321 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3164
Email: pbamwine@utk.edu
Profile Page

Harold Benus

Harold Benus
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 272
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3394
Email: hbenus@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stan L. Bowie

Stan L. Bowie
Professor
Office: 421 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-0692
Email: sbowie@utk.edu
Profile page

Lizzie Bowland
Director, DSW Program and Associate Professor
Office: 305 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7830
Email: sbowland@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kate McClernon Chaffin

Kate Chaffin
Director, Online MSSW Program
and Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 280
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6134
Email: katechaffin@utk.edu
Profile Page

Ashley Childers

Ashley Childers
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 276
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3387
Email: achilde8@utk.edu
Profile Page

Dr. Douglas Coatsworth

Doug Coatsworth
Betsey Bush Endowed Professor in Behavioral Health and
Associate Dean for Research
Office: 204 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Email: dcoatswo@utk.edu
Profile Page

Anne Conway, PhD

Urban Child Institute logoAnne Conway
Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor
Office: 207 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-8665
Email: aconway3@utk.edu
Profile Page

Courtney Cronley

Courtney Cronley
Associate Professor
Office: 313 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7503
Email: ccronle1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kim Denton

Kim Denton
Assistant Director of Field Education,
Coordinator of Field Education, BSSW Program, and
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 309 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6677
Email: kddenton@utk.edu
Profile Page

Allison Diehl
Coordinator of Field Education, Nashville MSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 264
Campus: Nashville
Email: amilam7@utk.edu

Gretchen Ely
Director, PhD Program and Professor
Office: 306 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3802
Email: geely@utk.edu
Profile Page

Jennifer First
Assistant Professor
Office: Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Email: jfirst@utk.edu
Profile page

Shandra Forrect-Bank

Shandra Forrest-Bank
Director of the Social Work Office of Research and Public Service and Associate Professor
Office: 600 Henley Street, Suite 224
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6218
Email: sforres6@utk.edu
Profile Page

Carmen Reese Foster

Carmen Reese Foster
Director of Alumni Affairs,
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program, and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 260
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3398
cfoste22@utk.edu
Profile Page

Dr. Camille Hall

J. Camille Hall
Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion and Professor
Campus: Knoxville

Mary Lehman Held

Mary Held
Assistant Dean, Nashville Campus,
Director, Nashville MSSW Program, and Associate Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 272
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6132
Email: mheld@utk.edu
Profile Page

Christy Hickman

Christy Hickman
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 310 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3206
Email: chickma1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Andrea Joseph

Andrea Joseph
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 268
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5129
ajoseph7@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kim Crane Mallory

Kim Crane Mallory
Director of Field Education and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 273
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6157
Email: kcrane@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kelly Brooke Martin, PhD

Kelly Brooke Martin
Director of International Education and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 312 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3704
Email: kmarti16@utk.edu
Profile Page

Michael Mason

Michael Mason
Betsey R. Bush Endowed Professor in Children & Families at Risk
Office: 213 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-4198
Email: mmason29@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stephen McGarity

Stephen McGarity
Assistant Professor
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6150
Email: mcgarity@utk.edu
Profile Page

Lori Messinger

Lori Messinger
Dean and Professor
Office: 404 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6693
Email: lmessing@utk.edu
Profile Page

Robert M. Mindrup

Robert Mindrup
Director of BSSW Programs and
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 303 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8109
Email: rmindrup@utk.edu
Profile Page

Katherine Montgomery
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 286
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6154
Email: kmontg16@utk.edu

Javonda Williams Moss
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor
Office: 403 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8208
Email: jwill488@utk.edu
Profile Page

William R. Nugent

William R. Nugent
Professor
Office: 408 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6544
Email: wnugent@utk.edu

David Patterson
Cooper-Herron Endowed Professor in Mental Health Research & Practice
Office: Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7511
Email: dpatter2@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kristen Ravi
Assistant Professor
Office: Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Email: kravi2@utk.edu
Profile Page

Ragan Schriver

Ragan Schriver
Director, MSSW Program (Knoxville)
and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 302 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7513
Email: rschriv1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Elizabeth B. Strand

Elizabeth Strand
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 2407 River Drive, Room A205
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8387
Email: estrand@utk.edu

Phyllis Thompson
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 320 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6614
Email: pthomp11@utk.edu
Profile Page

Katie Dorough Veit

Katie Veit
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 277
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3383
Email: kdorough@utk.edu
Profile Page

Tami Walker
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 262
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 988-9488
Email: twalker7@utk.edu

Martina Ward

Martina Ward
Coordinator of Field Education, MSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 308 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7512
Email: mward21@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stacia West

Stacia West
Associate Professor
Campus: Nashville

Ali Winters
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 193 Polk Avenue, Suite E., Room 283
Campus: Nashville
Email: awinter3@utk.edu

John Wodarski

John Wodarski
Professor
Office: 214 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-1707
Email: jwodarsk@utk.edu
Profile Page

Lisa Zottarelli
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: Philander P Claxton Education Building
Campus: Knoxville
Email: lzottare@utk.edu
Profile Page


Emeritus Faculty

Mary H. Bloch, Professor of Social Work. M.A.S.A., Ohio State University.

Rebecca Bolen, Professor Social Work. PhD, University of Texas at Arlington.

Thomas Cruthirds, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Tulane University. letomcru@comcast.net

Sherry Cummings, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Georgia. scumming@utk.edu

David Dupper, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Florida State University. ddupper@utk.edu

Judith I. Fiene, Associate Dean and Associate Professor. PhD, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Gideon W. Fryer, Professor of Social Work. Ed.D., Columbia University.

Charles Glisson, Chancellor’s Professor and Distinguished University Professor. PhD, Washington University.

Ben P. Granger, Professor of Social Work. Ph.D., Brandeis University.

Hisashi Hirayama, Professor of Social Work. DSW, University of Pennsylvania.

Kate Mullins, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Roger M. Nooe, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Tulane University. rnooe@utk.edu

Terri Combs Orme, The Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor. PhD, Washington University

John Orme, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. jorme@utk.edu
Connect with John on Google Scholar Citations or ResearchGate

James D. Orten, Professor of Social Work. D.S.W., University of Alabama.

Cynthia Rocha, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. crocha@utk.edu

Hia Rubenstein, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Karen M. Sowers, Dean Emerita and Professor Emerita. PhD Florida State University kmsowers@utk.edu

Marlys Staudt, Associate Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. mstaudt@utk.edu

Eunice O. Shatz, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Brandeis University.

Hugh Vaughn, Associate Dean and Associate Professor. Ed.D., Memphis State University.