Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty and Staff

Full-time Faculty of the College of Social Work


Thereasa Abrams

Thereasa Abrams
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 270
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5191
Email: tabrams1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Brittany Adams

Brittany Adams
Coordinator of Field Education, Online BSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 311 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7502
Email: blong8@utk.edu
Profile Page

Patricia Bamwine

Patricia Bamwine
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 278
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (865) 974-3164
Email: pbamwine@utk.edu
Profile Page

Harold Benus

Harold Benus
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 272
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3394
Email: hbenus@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stan Bowie

Stan L. Bowie
Professor
Office: 421 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-0692
Email: sbowie@utk.edu
Profile page

Lizzie Bowland

Lizzie Bowland
Director, DSW Program and Associate Professor
Office: 305 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7830
Email: sbowland@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kate Chaffin

Kate Chaffin
Assistant Dean for Faculty Development
and Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 280
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6134
Email: katechaffin@utk.edu
Profile Page

Zibei Chen
Assistant Professor
Office: 413 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3969
Email: Zchen75@utk.edu

Ashley Childers

Ashley Childers
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 276
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3387
Email: achilde8@utk.edu
Profile Page

Dr. Douglas Coatsworth

Doug Coatsworth
Betsey Bush Endowed Professor in Behavioral Health and
Associate Dean for Research
Office: UT Conference Center, 600 Henley St., Room 221G
Campus: Knoxville
Email: dcoatswo@utk.edu
Profile Page

Anne Conway, PhD

Anne Conway
Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor
Office: 211 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-8665
Email: aconway3@utk.edu
Profile Page

Urban Child Logo
Courtney Cronley

Courtney Cronley
Associate Professor
Office: 313 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7503
Email: ccronle1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kim Denton

Kim Denton
Assistant Director of Field Education,
Coordinator of Field Education, BSSW Program, and
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 309 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6677
Email: kddenton@utk.edu
Profile Page

Allison Diehl

Allison Diehl
Coordinator of Field Education, Nashville MSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 264
Campus: Nashville
Email: amilam7@utk.edu

gretchen ely headshot

Gretchen Ely
Director, PhD Program and Professor
Office: 306 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3802
Email: geely@utk.edu
Profile Page

Photo of Tom Favale

Thomas C. Favale, Jr.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Office: 2407 River Drive, C222, Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: (865) 973-7068
Email: tfavale@utk.edu

Jennifer First

Jennifer First
Assistant Professor
Office: 420 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6680
Email: jfirst@utk.edu
Profile page

Shandra Forrest-Bank

Shandra Forrest-Bank
Associate Professor
Office: 422 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6218
Email: sforres6@utk.edu
Profile Page

Carmen Reese Foster

Carmen Reese Foster
Interim Director, Online MSSW Program,
Director of Alumni Affairs, and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 260
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3398
cfoste22@utk.edu
Profile Page

Photo of Dashawna Fussell-Ware

Dashawna J. Fussell-Ware
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 273
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 538-7827
dfussel1@utk.edu

mary held headshot

Mary Held
Assistant Dean, Nashville Campus,
Director, Nashville MSSW Program, and Associate Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 272
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6132
Email: mheld@utk.edu
Profile Page

Christy Hickman

Christy Hickman
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 310 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3206
Email: chickma1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Alicia Hirt
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 261
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (615) 782-5192
Email: Ahirt2@utk.edu

ian headshot

Ian Johnson
Assistant Professor
Office: 411 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7511
Email: ianmj@utk.edu

Andrea Joseph

Andrea Joseph-McCatty
Assistant Professor
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 268
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-5129
ajoseph7@utk.edu
Profile Page

Kim Crane Mallory

Kim Crane Mallory
Director of Field Education and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 273
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6157
Email: kcrane@utk.edu
Profile Page

Michael Mason

Michael Mason
Betsey R. Bush Endowed Professor in Children & Families at Risk
Office: UT Conference Center, 600 Henley St., Room 221H
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-4198
Email: mmason29@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stephen McGarity

Stephen McGarity
Assistant Professor
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6150
Email: mcgarity@utk.edu
Profile Page

Lori Messinger

Lori Messinger
Dean and Professor
Office: 404 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6693
Email: cswdean@utk.edu
Profile Page

Robert M. Mindrup

Robert Mindrup
Director of BSSW Programs and
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 303 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8109
Email: rmindrup@utk.edu
Profile Page

Katherine Montgomery
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 286
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-6154
Email: kmontg16@utk.edu
Profile Page

Javonda Headshot

Javonda Williams Moss
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor
Office: 403 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8208
Email: jwill488@utk.edu
Profile Page

William R. Nugent

William R. Nugent
Professor
Office: 408 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6544
Email: wnugent@utk.edu

ashley pennel headshot

Ashley Pennell
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 314 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3991
Email: Awalke68@utk.edu

Kristen Ravi
Assistant Professor
Office: Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Email: kravi2@utk.edu
Profile Page

Rachel Ross headshot

Rachel Ross
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 307 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6593
Email: rcooper7@utk.edu

Ragan Schriver

Ragan Schriver
Director, MSSW Program (Knoxville)
and Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 302 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-7513
Email: rschriv1@utk.edu
Profile Page

Elizabeth Strand

Elizabeth Strand
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 2407 River Drive, Room A205
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8387
Email: estrand@utk.edu

Phyllis Thompson
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 320 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-6614
Email: pthomp11@utk.edu
Profile Page

Katie Dorough Veit

Katie Veit
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 277
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 782-3383
Email: kdorough@utk.edu
Profile Page

Tami Walker
Coordinator of Field Education, Online MSSW Program and Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: Polk Ave. Building Rm 262
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 988-9488
Email: twalker7@utk.edu

Martina Ward

Martina Ward
Coordinator of Field Education, MSSW Program and
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 308 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7512
Email: mward21@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stephanie Weatherstone

Stephanie Weatherstone
Assistant Professor of Practice
Office: 213 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-9125
Email: sswain@utk.edu
Profile Page

Stacia West

Stacia West
Associate Professor
Office: 193 Polk Avenue, Suite E
Campus: Nashville
Email: swest11@utk.edu
Profile Page

Ali Winters
Associate Professor of Practice
Office: 193 Polk Avenue, Suite E., Room 283
Campus: Nashville
Email: awinter3@utk.edu

Lisa Zottarelli

Lisa Zottarelli
Clinical Associate Professor
Office: 321 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Email: lzottare@utk.edu
Profile Page


Emeritus Faculty

Mary H. Bloch, Professor of Social Work. M.A.S.A., Ohio State University.

Rebecca Bolen, Professor Social Work. PhD, University of Texas at Arlington.

Thomas Cruthirds, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Tulane University. letomcru@comcast.net

Sherry Cummings, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Georgia. scumming@utk.edu

David Dupper, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Florida State University. ddupper@utk.edu

Judith I. Fiene, Associate Dean and Associate Professor. PhD, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Gideon W. Fryer, Professor of Social Work. Ed.D., Columbia University.

Charles Glisson, Chancellor’s Professor and Distinguished University Professor. PhD, Washington University.

Ben P. Granger, Professor of Social Work. Ph.D., Brandeis University.

Hisashi Hirayama, Professor of Social Work. DSW, University of Pennsylvania.

Kate Mullins, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Roger M. Nooe, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Tulane University. rnooe@utk.edu

Terri Combs Orme, The Urban Child Institute Endowed Professor. PhD, Washington University

John Orme, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. jorme@utk.edu
Connect with John on Google Scholar Citations or ResearchGate

James D. Orten, Professor of Social Work. D.S.W., University of Alabama.

David Patterson, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Utah. dpatter2@utk.edu

Cynthia Rocha, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. crocha@utk.edu

Hia Rubenstein, Professor of Social Work. PhD, University of Chicago.

Karen M. Sowers, Dean Emerita and Professor Emerita. PhD Florida State University kmsowers@utk.edu

Marlys Staudt, Associate Professor of Social Work. PhD, Washington University. mstaudt@utk.edu

Eunice O. Shatz, Professor of Social Work. PhD, Brandeis University.

Hugh Vaughn, Associate Dean and Associate Professor. Ed.D., Memphis State University.

Staff of the College of Social Work


Susan Bryant

Sean Bryant
Field Education Specialist
Office: 421 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 300-1584 (call or text)
Email: sbryan27@utk.edu

macy bunn headshot

Macy Bunn
Knoxville Recruiter
Office: 412 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-3996
Email: macybunn@utk.edu

daryl headshot

Daryl Chansuthus
SWORPS Director
Office: UT Conference Center, 600 Henley St., Room 224
Campus: Knoxville
Email: dchansut@utk.edu

Hannah Collins
Administrative Specialist I
Office: 301 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-3175
Email: hbrown22@utk.edu

Natalie Crippen

Natalie Crippen
Administrative Specialist I
Office: 207 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-3353
Email: ncrippen@utk.edu

Stephanie Frierson
Administrative Support Assistant III
Office: Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone:(615) 256-1885
Email: sfrierso@utk.edu

Amanda Gandy

Amanda Gandy
Director of Student Success and Advising
Office: 105 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-7063
Email: agandy3@utk.edu

Ali Giecek headshot

Ali Giecek
Accounting Specialist III
Office: 205 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6607
Email: agiecek@utk.edu

Tiffany Harmon

Tiffany Harmon
Director of Budget, Finance, & Operations
Office: 204 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-3146
Email: tharmon2@utk.edu

Cassidy Hebert
Administrative Associate
Office: Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone:(615) 782-6153
Email:chebert8@utk.edu

Ashley Howdeshell

Ashley Howdeshell
Associate Director of Budget, Finance, and Operations
Office: 202 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6698
Email: ahobby4@utk.edu

Margaret Huffstetler
Academic Advisor I
Office: 109 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-9131
Email: mlindle1@utk.edu

grey box with words photo coming soon

Sara Hughes
Administrative Specialist I
Office: 301 Henson Hall
Phone: (865) 974-8316
Campus: Knoxville
Email: Shughe48@utk.edu

Margaret McMillan
Continuing Education Coordinator
Office: 410 Henson Hall
Phone: (865) 974-1655
Campus: Knoxville
Email: mmcmil13@utk.edu

Gina Middleton

Gina Middleton
Administrative Specialist II
Office: 301 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-3352
Email: gcox@utk.edu

Bethany Mincey
Administrative Specialist I
Office: 301 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6481
Email: bbooker1@utk.edu

Tony Murchison

Tony Murchison
Director of Outreach and Engagement
Office: 405 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-2349
Email: tmurchis@utk.edu

ryan murr headshot

Ryan Murr
Web Designer & IT Support
Office: 210 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-8821
Email: tmurr3@utk.edu

LaChetis Osborne-Brown

LaChetis Osborne-Brown
Administrative Specialist I
Office: 264 Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone:(615) 782-3382
Email: losborn6@utk.edu

Stephanie Piper

Stephanie Piper
Senior Director of Advancement
Office: 409 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-5363
Email: spiper@utk.edu

Jon Rea
Financial Analyst
Office: 206 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-8984
Email: jrea4@utk.edu

Melissa Richter
Communications & Marketing Specialist
Office: 212 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-3291
Email: mrichte7@utk.edu

Emily Rodriguez
Academic Advisor I
Office: 107 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-4898
Email: erodri22@utk.edu

Ann Ryan
Administrative Coordinator I
Office: 401 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-6693
Email: mryan6@utk.edu

Jen Scagnelli

Jennifer Scagnelli
Director of Enrollment Services
Office: 304 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone:(865) 974-1096
Email: jenscag@utk.edu

Amber Mitchell-Spencer

Amber Mitchell-Spencer
Recruiting Coordinator
Office: Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone: (615) 200-6471
Email: amitch87@utk.edu

Malissa Teal

Malissa Teal
Administrative Specialist I
Office: Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone:615-782-6158
Email: mteal2@utk.edu

Angela Thomas
Communications and Marketing Manager
Office: 208 Henson Hall
Campus: Knoxville
Phone: (865) 974-8638
Email: athom165@utk.edu

Tiffany Toney
Administrative Specialist III
Office: Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone:(615) 782-6159
Email: ttoney3@utk.edu

Ken Wagner
Information Technology Manager
Office: Polk Avenue Building, 193 Polk Ave.
Campus: Nashville
Phone:(615) 782-6152
Email: kwagner@utk.edu